Appointment of members of the Service Commissions

The members of the Commissions are appointed by the Governor General, acting on the recommendation of the Prime Minister, after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition, by instrument under the Public Seal.

They hold office for a fixed period of not more than three years and may not be removed or suspended from the exercise of their functions except for inability to discharge those functions, whether due to infirmity of body or mind, or misbehaviour. There is no limit to the number of terms that a member of the Commission may serve and membership of any Commission is Constitutional. The Service Commissions therefore enjoys a considerable measure of autonomy in its operation.