The Public Service Commission

Section 90 of the Constitution deals with the establishment and composition of the Public Service Commission and states:-

There shall be a Public Service Commission for Barbados which shall consist of a Chairman and not less than three nor more than five other members who shall be appointed by the Governor General, acting on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition, by instrument under the Public Seal.

The functions of the Commission are set out at Section 94 (1) of the Constitution as follows:-

Subject to the provisions of this Constitution, power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in such offices is hereby vested in the Governor General acting in accordance with the advice of the Public Service Commission.

The Commission is therefore required to advise the Governor General on all matters relating to the recruitment, appointment, promotion, removal from office and disciplinary control over public officers.  However with respect to appointments of Permanent Secretary, chief or deputy chief professional or technical adviser or officer, or head or deputy head of a department, the Prime Minister is consulted before the Commission advises the Governor General on the appointment.  This is in keeping with Section 99 of the Constitution. 

The specific duties of the Public Service Commission are set out at Part II on the Service Commissions (Public Service) Regulations, 1978 and at Part 11 of the Public Service Act, CAP 29.    

The members of the Public Service Commission are as follows:

Mr. David Bowen, C.B.E                                                                   -    Chairman

Mr. Calvin Springer, G.C.M                                                              -    Member

Reverend Canon Burke                                                                     -    Member

Sir Everton Weekes, KCMG, GCM, O.B.E., LL.D (Hons.), J.P.      -    Member

Mr. N. Keith Simmons, Q.C                                                              -    Member

Lt.Col. Atheline Branch, M.B.E.                                                       -    Member